Lesser Antilles and The Bahamas

The Bahamas and the eight nations that constitute the Lesser Antilles were British colonies that gained independence between the early 1960s and the early 1980s. Today, Trinidad and Tobago, St. Kitts and Nevis, Antigua and Barbuda and the Bahamas have the four highest gross domestic products per capita, at purchasing power parity, in all of Latin America and the Caribbean. Popular tourist destinations, the Bahamas and some of the countries in the Lesser Antilles are also offshore financial centers. These nine nations are part of the West Indies, which dominated the sport of cricket for two decades despite their small populations.

Need to Know

Image Placeholder

Explore the world with OZY.COM

This year, OZY will be bringing you untold stories from every single country on the map, one day at a time, to introduce you to new people, new trends and new places. Travel with us for sights, sounds, and surprises from across our diverse world.

View Full Series