Other Union Territories

Chandigarh, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, and Lakshadweep are India's four tiniest union territories -- federally governed regions -- by area, but their histories and geographies couldn't be more different. Daman and Diu, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli, were Portuguese colonies till 1961 and are enclaves in the western state of Gujarat, while Lakshadweep, an Indian Ocean archipelago of 12 atolls was part of British India. Chandigarh was created after India gained independence.

Need to Know

Image Placeholder

Explore India with OZY.COM

This spring, OZY will be reporting untold stories from every Indian state and union territory, introducing you to new people, trends and places. Join us for a journey of India like you've never seen it before.

View Full Series