Lesotho & Swaziland

The two small southern African nations are ruled by monarchies and have economies heavily dependent on South Africa both for trade and for employment. They share South Africa's currency, the Rand. An enclave surrounded on all sides by South Africa, Lesotho is largely an agrarian society. Swaziland, bordered by Mozambique to the north and South Africa on all other sides, has a more developed manufacturing sector, including textiles and sugar processing.

Need to Know

Image Placeholder

Explore the world with OZY.COM

This year, OZY will be bringing you untold stories from every single country on the map, one day at a time, to introduce you to new people, new trends and new places. Travel with us for sights, sounds, and surprises from across our diverse world.

View Full Series