The Presidential Daily Brief


  1. shutterstock 305016536

    Italy Misses World Cup for First Time Since 1958

    Veni, vidi, vanquished. The four-time World Cup champions will not be heading to the international soccer tournament for the first time in six decades after drawing 0-0 with Sweden. Italian Football Federation president Carlo Tavecchio said in September that “not qualifying would be an apocalypse.” The Netherlands, which made the last two semifinals, and Chile, reigning Copa America champions, also won’t be seen in Russia next summer. Nor will the United States, which failed to qualify for the first time since 1986.

This story is part of The Presidential Daily Brief

view full edition